After thousands of nominations from small towns across the country, Sanford was announced this week as one of the Top 20 communities being considered for Season 3 of the online show, Small Business Revolution — Main Street Series.

On Sept. 28, Deluxe Corporation — a self-described “growth engine” marketing firm for small businesses — launched the second season of Small Business Revolution – Main Street, featuring the community of Bristol Borough, Pennsylvania, and six businesses selected to receive the $500,000 makeover. The series, which airs on, Hulu and YouTube, features marketing and business expertise for small businesses in one small town. (The Season 2 premiere is embedded below)

The show’s host Amanda Brinkman, Deluxe’s chief brand and communications officer — along with a host of marketing experts from Deluxe — help business owners find their path to success on the show. Deluxe will gather more information from the Top 20 communities before narrowing its list to 10 finalists to visit in the month of January.

Eventually, five or six communities will be selected for a national vote to determine the winner.

“There are so many deserving towns that need this boost,” Brinkman said. “Our team decided to announce 20 deserving communities so we can do a deeper dive into their structure and their needs before moving on to the next round. No matter what, each of these 20 would make a great winner for our contest.”

Support Our Sponsors, yo

Jennifer St. Clair, director of Downtown Sanford Inc., called this week’s announcement “thrilling.”

“It’s on all of us now to move Sanford forward to the Top 10 and Top 5,” she said. “Winning would launch us into the spotlight, letting everyone else know why they should love our blooming community as much as we do.”

Small Business Revolution — Main Street began in 2016, featuring the story of Wabash, Indiana. All eight episodes of Season 2 are now available online or on Hulu.

Following an announcement on Dec. 12 for the Top 10, representatives from Deluxe will travel to the towns in early 2018 to then narrow them down to five or six, who will compete in a nationwide vote when the winner is announced in late February.